iDevGames Forums
I'm a dinosaur and I'm about to go extinct! - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Programming Languages & Scripting (/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: I'm a dinosaur and I'm about to go extinct! (/thread-10149.html)

I'm a dinosaur and I'm about to go extinct! - Justin Brimm - Jun 30, 2012 04:06 PM

I can see the writing on the wall; the improvements made to Objective-C and the Cocoa frameworks over the last year and a half are driving me to irrelevance, because I'm a dinosaur and I can't adapt to the coming age of mammals.

[Fair warning, this is in Languages & Scripting because it's directly related to Objective-C, but this post is really about dealing with a changing language]

[I have grown lungs and crawled from the ocean] I started programming as a preteen using REALbasic back in MacOS 8 and advanced to C and Objective-C with the release of MacOS X. This can be entirely attributed to MacOS X coming packaged with a developer CD with the entire development environment on it. Never before had everything I needed to program in a compiled language been so accessible to me.

C and Objective-C were my first compiled languages because I had little choice in the matter; I'm grateful they were, because if C++ had been my first foray into C-based languages, I may have learned to hate programming instead of embracing it. I learned Objective-C and C because I had to, I continue to use them because I can.

[I walk the land and I'm top of the food chain] From then to now, I've learned a myriad of both compiled and interpreted languages. Java, C++, Fortran (in its many variants), Lua, SAC (Seismic Analysis Code; the executable is its own script interpreter)*, and a number of others I can't be bothered to list.