iDevGames Forums
All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Tools & Technology (/forum-10.html)
+--- Thread: All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly (/thread-1635.html)



All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - Nosredna - Mar 12, 2009 08:05 PM

I've been coding merrily along. After a reboot, I can no longer use the device (just the simulator).

Surely provisioning an iPhone for use as a dev target should survive a reboot. Any idea what might have gone wrong?


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - JustinFic - Mar 12, 2009 08:19 PM

The checklist I use:

Make sure your profile is set in the project info.

Make sure you're not overwriting it in the target info.

Make sure it matches the app ID.

If none of those work, right click on your project in the finder, select "Show package contents." Open the pbxproj file in a plain text editor, and double check that your provisioning profile ID is correct in there. Sometimes, even though Xcode will say you have one profile selected, there will be something totally different in the pbxproj file.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - AnotherJake - Mar 12, 2009 08:23 PM

Don't panic, it's normal for the whole system to go bonkers and stop building for the device at some random point. It usually happens to me when I really need it to work in a time crunch. Wink

In addition to JustinFic's advice, I assume you mean you rebooted your computer. Have you tried rebooting the device too?


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - Nosredna - Mar 12, 2009 08:29 PM

I disconnected the device and reconnected it.

Tomorrow morning I'll go through the certificate rigamarole again and keep Justin's list at hand. By the way, I love your website Justin.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - AnotherJake - Mar 12, 2009 08:31 PM

Nosredna Wrote:I disconnected the device and reconnected it.

You need to actually shut the device off and then turn it back on again. Connect/reconnect isn't enough.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - Nosredna - Mar 12, 2009 08:45 PM

AnotherJake Wrote:You need to actually shut the device off and then turn it back on again. Connect/reconnect isn't enough.

Well son of a gun. You're good. VERY good.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - AnotherJake - Mar 12, 2009 10:13 PM

Hehe... Just lots of prior hair-pulling. Wink


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - kodex - Mar 13, 2009 01:03 AM

If all else fails don't forget to sacrifice a goat to your iTunes god of choice.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - Nosredna - Mar 13, 2009 07:42 AM

Jumping into a new platform is always scary. But it's nice to have the internet to ask around. A key difference between now and 20 years ago.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - Nosredna - Apr 21, 2009 06:10 PM

Here I am again.

Trying to work through the Submission process.

I realized that I've changed the name of my game along the way, and my developer certificate only knows the old name.

How do I set up a new project with a new name? Can I still use my original developer cert that's in my keychain? Or do I need to start over with a new certification.

I must admit that the process is pretty intimidating. As I work through the steps it sometimes feels like I'm about to be asked a trick question while crossing a bridge looking for the holy grail.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - kodex - Apr 21, 2009 09:35 PM

The trick here is to put a "*" after the name in the certificate and then never think about it again.


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - Nosredna - Apr 21, 2009 09:41 PM

kodex Wrote:The trick here is to put a "*" after the name in the certificate and then never think about it again.

Yeah, I think you're right. I should have done that. Can I do that now, after having already created two specific ones?

I seem to have it worked out. I hope.

Man, that submission process was grueling. Did it give anyone else mad armpit sweat?


All of the sudden my device is not provisioned properly - kodex - Apr 21, 2009 10:11 PM

Nosredna Wrote:Yeah, I think you're right. I should have done that. Can I do that now, after having already created two specific ones?

I seem to have it worked out. I hope.

Man, that submission process was grueling. Did it give anyone else mad armpit sweat?

You don't really get use to it but it does become numbing after a while. I would imagine it feels the same as freezing to death.