iDevGames Forums
Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Designer's Studio (/forum-6.html)
+--- Thread: Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? (/thread-3606.html)



Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - Yum42 - Dec 26, 2006 04:37 PM

Ok, so I've been making short games on my windows computer using rpg maker 2000, 2003 and xp. I'm very comfortable with them but I have a mac now. I was wondering if there is anything like rpg maker or any good rpg making tool for the mac?


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - bronxbomber92 - Dec 26, 2006 04:56 PM

I don't think there is... You can dual boot Windows XP, and use it on your Windows partition that way.


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - ravuya - Dec 27, 2006 12:51 PM

I understand ColdStone is a similar tool, but I haven't used it.


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - Joseph Duchesne - Dec 27, 2006 01:15 PM

I own a copy of coldstone... but it no longer runs in 10.4 I believe. If it does however, it's what you're looking for.


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - akb825 - Dec 27, 2006 01:38 PM

As do I. It's supposedly going to be updated, but it's been, oh, 5 years without a peep. Funny, though, how they advertise it as being a tool that you can create games without learning a language without C++. And here I am, making a game with C++ before they have been able to get there supposed update out the door. (of course, I doubt that they'll ever get it out)


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - Yum42 - Dec 27, 2006 02:46 PM

I found a program named isoworld, it costs $49 and I tried to download their demo and that didn't even work so seriously if I'm having a hard time getting their demo to even open it I'm willing to bet its an outdated waste of money.

I tried looking for Coldstone and I heard a lot of negative things, it also costs money even tho its way out of date. So....yeah.

what the second poster said, there is a way to open windows on my mac and open rpg maker? cause I already have that thus being free, works, and I'm used to....

is that possible?


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - OneSadCookie - Dec 27, 2006 03:15 PM

If you have an Intel Mac, you can use Apple's Boot Camp to reboot into Windows or Mac OS X at your choice (free), or you can use Parallels to run Windows in a window on Mac OS X ($79).

If you don't have an Intel Mac, you're outta luck.


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - Yum42 - Dec 27, 2006 05:57 PM

I have an intel. I asked a friend of a friend and he mentioned it so I'll have him over to explain how to do that I guess. Thanks everyone.


Is there a way to use rpg maker on my mac? - Cobra - Oct 13, 2009 02:42 AM

Sorry to resurrect an old thread but as this thread did have a better result on Google I thought it would be helpful to direct anyone looking for RPG Maker for Mac OS X to this promising thread http://www.idevgames.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13371.