iDevGames Forums
Newbie Inquiries - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Game Programming Fundamentals (/forum-7.html)
+--- Thread: Newbie Inquiries (/thread-521.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Newbie Inquiries - Doobfoo - Dec 11, 2009 09:41 AM

Hey everyone, I'm Doobfoo. I stumbled upon this forum and have found something great!

Some brief information about myself. I have been a freelance web designer for the past few years. I have worked with the following; xhtml, css, php, mysql, sql, actionscript, javascript.

I am highly interested in game development. As far as my setup goes, I run two Intel Macs. I do however, use Windows XP.

The past few days I have been researching on my options for going down this path. I would like to create games for the OS X, and Windows eventually. I am confused with a few things on the Macintosh side, though.

If I am to create a game on OS X, am I to use Objective-C/C++? Or solely C++? Is Objective-C/C++ only for regular application development on the OS X platform?

I am also interested in developing games for the iPhone. The iPhone then only uses Objective-C and Cocoa with OpenGL support?

Do I need to learn two different languages if I want to develop for OS X/Windows and the iPhone?

Regards.

Newbie Inquiries - AnotherJake - Dec 11, 2009 12:38 PM

You can use SDL for a cross-platform "windowing" library to set up you game environment on Windows, OS X, Linux, and I believe iPhone too.

Mainly, the language(s) you'll use primarily for game programming will be C/C++. In addition, on the iPhone, unless SDL covers everything, you'll only need to learn a very small amount of Objective-C. OpenGL will be what you'll use for graphics.

If you're planning on doing 3D games primarily, I would very highly recommend you look into using Unity3D.

Newbie Inquiries - Mister T - Dec 12, 2009 01:21 AM