iDevGames Forums
Accelerate framework and an odd error - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Programming Languages & Scripting (/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Accelerate framework and an odd error (/thread-5345.html)



Accelerate framework and an odd error - longjumper - Jul 3, 2005 04:44 PM

This has gotten me really pissed. I added the accelerate.framework to my project, then included Accelerate/Accelerate.h.

error: 'vFloat' does not name a type

Well, the hell it doesn't, because in the .cpp file it's a-ok, in another project it's working just fine with the same includes. What gives?


Accelerate framework and an odd error - longjumper - Jul 3, 2005 04:50 PM

Well, it looks like you need to enable altivec extensions in your build settings to do this, so that fixed it. But then that gives me an other question, I was under the impression that Accelerate was an abstract layer, in that it doesn't neccesarily use altivec, so that when the intel chips come out, the accelerate framework will work the same. Am I wrong?


Accelerate framework and an odd error - Fenris - Jul 3, 2005 04:56 PM

IIRC, Accelerate will work on Intel's SSE instructions, yes. But if you haven't got Altivec enabled, XCode will just turn all SIMD stuff off - IIRC, that is.


Accelerate framework and an odd error - longjumper - Jul 3, 2005 05:02 PM

Ok, and how can I get a simple float out of one of the elements of a vFloat? There is no documentation for this at all, and the names of the functions are writtein in such a way you'd think that code runs faster with shorter function names.

edit: Nevermind, just unioned a float array with a vFloat instead.