iDevGames Forums
Core Audio mutlichannel audio - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Graphics & Audio Programming (/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Core Audio mutlichannel audio (/thread-5761.html)



Core Audio mutlichannel audio - tachyon - Mar 15, 2005 11:55 PM

Hi guys,

I've recently aquired an emagic a26 usb sound card and am having trouble getting core audio to initialize with anything other than 2 channels.

I am using AudioDeviceSetProperty() to set the number of channels. Anything other than 2 returns an error.

The card in windows works fine with multi-channel so i know its not a problem with the card.

Any help would be appriciated.

Thanks.


Core Audio mutlichannel audio - FCCovett - Mar 16, 2005 04:11 PM

There's a way to get info on all audio devices installed in your computer, both physical and stream formats. The HALLab source code that comes with Xcode (or CoreAudio SDK) shows you how to play audio throught any number of channels. It's a bit more involved than what is seems.


Core Audio mutlichannel audio - tachyon - Mar 18, 2005 01:04 AM

thanks, i had a look at the HALLab example and it was exactly what i needed Smile