iDevGames Forums
cross-platform code - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Graphics & Audio Programming (/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: cross-platform code (/thread-6446.html)

Pages: 1 2 3

cross-platform code - leggo - Jul 14, 2004 02:35 AM

I've recently bought an iBook and I'd like to use it to code my opengl apps! I've been coding only for win so far and I'm still a beginner (I've created a stupid game and a tetris clone)
I'd like to make cross-platform code so I can work both on mac and on pc and show my works to my friends! Rasp
Is it possible? where can i find some examples?

tnx LOL

cross-platform code - sealfin - Jul 14, 2004 04:38 AM

You've got a few choices, primarily either GLUT or SDL; I'd recommend the SDL library: easy, free, reasonably documented, knowledgable and helpful mailing list, games orientated, and cross-platform for Mac OS X, Windows, Linux, and a host of other minor platforms...

cross-platform code - leggo - Jul 14, 2004 05:06 AM

tnx!
any idea of where I can find some examples/tutorials/source code?

cross-platform code - BeyondCloister - Jul 14, 2004 05:14 AM

The SDL website (http://www.libsdl.org/) has the information you need plus links to tutorials.

cross-platform code - sealfin - Jul 14, 2004 05:16 AM

Apparently NeHe has a few SDL ports; failing that, I'm not sure - I think there are a few tutorials for 2D SDL code (there's a platform game example/tutorial which is always mentioned on the SDL mailing list) but I don't have the links to hand, sorry - if you want, email me and I'll send you a few SDL/OpenGL examples I coded a while back - they pretty much cover all the basics (creating an OpenGL context with SDL, using SDL_image to load textures, et al; they're not pretty, but they do work Rolleyes)

cross-platform code - leggo - Jul 14, 2004 05:34 AM