iDevGames Forums
the future of computer games? - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Game Design (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: the future of computer games? (/thread-7196.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

the future of computer games? - mark_battista - Mar 26, 2003 05:07 PM

Hi, I'm doing a report and some research into the future of computer games. I am currently a student studying computer games at degree level and would like to ask a few questions to get the general view on the future of games.

What do you consider the future of games will be?
What do you in general want to see in the future?
Does anyone know of any places where I can collate research?
What genres are expected to become big and what genres are expected to be scrapped, are genres merging?

You get the idea, If you could help me in anyway it would be much appreciated. Thank you

Mark Battista

the future of computer games? - Joseph Duchesne - Mar 26, 2003 05:23 PM

Hmm...

ïFrom what I see 2.5d games(ray casters) are already obsolete.
ïTop down games may make a comeback.
ïSidescrollers are like dimonds, forever

That's all of the top of my head. I'll think of more later.

the future of computer games? - Justin Brimm - Mar 26, 2003 05:25 PM

To answer your questions in order...

1) How far in the future? Ten, fifteen years, we'll probably be playing better looking and more elaborate games, but the only likely interaction improvement will be your ability to talk directly to characters, and have them respond back in a way you would expect a human to react (can already be done on large military training simulations). If your talking a hundred or two years down the future though, we might have something like the holodeck in StarTrek.