iDevGames Forums
Math Requirements - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Development Zone (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Game Programming Fundamentals (/forum-7.html)
+--- Thread: Math Requirements (/thread-8254.html)

Math Requirements - UFO! - Oct 30, 2010 10:37 PM

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to programming and such (and to this forums), but I have a strong interest in learning. Someday I hope I can make my own games.

However, as a communications student, I don't really get to see a lot of math (much less programming), so I was wondering, what would I have to learn on math subjects so I can program a game? I know there is a broad spectrum of games, but what I am trying to do is to program a simple game such as those that are on the app store or maybe even flash games.

Can anybody point me in the right direction? Grin

P.S.: I read the thread about starting on game development, and I tried to find out what exactly was linear algebra, and I found out it is something entirely new to me. ><

RE: Math Requirements - OneSadCookie - Oct 30, 2010 10:41 PM

Linear algebra will help you, but isn't necessary for a 2D game. You can make a perfectly good 2D game with the basic trigonometry you learned age about 14.

RE: Math Requirements - UFO! - Oct 31, 2010 04:46 PM

Oh, alright, thanks, I'll take that into account.

RE: Math Requirements - skyhawk - Nov 1, 2010 10:30 AM

I would suggest discrete math. I find I use those examples more often than not.

But honestly, the math you need to know depends on what you want to do in programming / game development. Computer science will help you far more than math will.

RE: Math Requirements - mikey - Nov 27, 2010 03:30 PM

Anything which you don't know already is on the internet for you to either learn or copy. P.S. for a simple 2D game there isn't anything really complex like quaternions or anything. Good luck anyway though.