iDevGames Forums
Estimating the inestimable! - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Community Zone (/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Assembly Room (/forum-13.html)
+--- Thread: Estimating the inestimable! (/thread-8319.html)

Estimating the inestimable! - Costume Utato - Nov 16, 2010 04:07 PM

I've been trying to get a team together to make my app, but it's hard with little money.

I am a good artist and I've programmed a little Java and done game scripting professionally. I could make this thing myself. It would take longer, but I could learn what I need to learn.

Here's how I see development going:

1) Learn either Unity or Cocos2D or Panda3, and make game environment (one basic room with four guys in it, first-person perspective of one of the guys). Set up preliminary interactivity.
2) Get game into iPhone development environment.
3) Tune game.
4) Add synchronous multiplayer ability--don't want to use GameCenter, though, so this will take more investigation and time.
5) Set up an In-App Store for expansions.
6) Tie up all the little details that end up driving you crazy; options screens, fast app switching support, startup screen, etc.
7) Submit...

Simple, right? Ha!

Here's my rough estimate of how long this will take in man-hours:

1) 240 (a month and a half)
2) 80 (two weeks)
3) 160 (a month)
4) 320? (two months)
5) 80 (two weeks)
6) 240 (a month and a half)
7) an infinite loop... Smile

Total app development time: seven months. Given that I'm basically asking an impossible question, do those steps and estimates seem about right?

RE: Estimating the inestimable! - OneSadCookie - Nov 16, 2010 04:58 PM

You haven't said anything about the gameplay, so it's hard to gauge how hard it'll be. Multiplayer is significantly affected. There's also quite a difference between "I've done some Java" and "I'm an expert in Java and at least one other language" which will affect how much learning you have to do.