iDevGames Forums
New To Game Designing - Printable Version

+- iDevGames Forums (http://www.idevgames.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Community Zone (/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Assembly Room (/forum-13.html)
+--- Thread: New To Game Designing (/thread-9381.html)

Pages: 1 2 3

New To Game Designing - Boaz - Oct 1, 2011 11:07 AM

Hi, i'm boaz.
I'm new to game designing and intend to make it my job when I grow up.
I've read a few tutorials and some forum posts. It seems to be a good way to start by re-designing the most simple games like pong or pacman.
My question is: When I've re-designed pong or pac-man, how do I know if I did it right?

RE: New To Game Designing - SethWillits - Oct 1, 2011 01:37 PM

Well, if you play it and nothing goes wrong... success!

If you can, you should pick up a book for beginners about game programming. There are several out there which assume no previous skill and walk you through everything. It'll be really helpful.

RE: New To Game Designing - Boaz - Oct 1, 2011 11:25 PM

Thnx for the quick reply.
The thing is, i know almost nothing about programming. I don't want to be a programmer, but a designer.
Do designers also need a certain amount of experience in programming?

RE: New To Game Designing - OneSadCookie - Oct 2, 2011 12:02 AM

maybe once you're a famous designer, you don't need any other skills...

Until then, you need skills that will help you get a game made in the first place Rasp

Bottom line: if you can't program, you'd better be able to do art. There are other useful skills (music, audio, writing, ...) but at this level, the people who can do the "big two" skills are in charge.

RE: New To Game Designing - Boaz - Oct 2, 2011 04:03 AM

I understand now. Thnx.

RE: New To Game Designing - Boaz - Oct 2, 2011 09:04 AM

One more question:
Since my father is a professional programmer he has a few books about C, C++ and C#
But which type of programming should i practice with as a start?