UML Diagramming

Nibbie
Hey all,

I'm new here but I hope to start participating a lot very soon. I'm hoping to wrap my head around objective-c and any other technology I might need to get my project up and running.

I am working on my master's thesis project at the Academy of Art in San Francisco. The project is to be an educational iPad/Android game, teaching the basic principles of animation using pre-rigged 2D characters. No drawing required. I've been working on the concept for several months now, but I need to start figuring out how I'm going to program the thing. I'm not a programmer but I do have a very basic understanding of scripting languages like Actionscript and Javascript.

I believe my first step should be to create a UML diagram to get a big picture view of all of the game objects and how they will interact. I'm struggling with knowing how to break things down into discrete objects. Right now I'm just circling around my own ideas, thinking about where to dip my toe in first.

Any suggestions?
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
Yeah, don't ever use UML for anything, ever.
The only reason to use something formal like UML is if you need to communicate with a large team, and that's the tool everyone has already agreed on. Or a client demands it as one of your deliverables.

Don't overthink this. Pick a tool you already know how to do. Jot down types of objects and what you think each one should do on scraps of paper or a whiteboard. Break big vague actions into smaller actions or pseudocode. Then turn those into methods or messages, along with arguments that will need to get passed. Be prepared to erase a lot.

I go through pages of scrap paper sometimes, but sometimes I use a whiteboard, a word processor/outliner, or a mind map tool (Freemind, specifically.)