Sprite game with OpenGL/GLKit

Nibbie
hi, after a year or something that i didn't touch xcode i wanna try to make a game again, i think last time i messed with it GLKit didn't exist, so i thought what the hell, maybe i should give it a try. (i'm not that good with opengl anyways).
i tried to follow this tutorial :
http://www.raywenderlich.com/9743/how-to...kit-part-1

what i need is drawing a texture with rotation, alpha, xscale, yscale... pretty standard for a sprite game i think. i managed to add all the capabilities i wanted, but i think the performance is really sucky. (i'm trying to render at 60 fps)
i get a huge lag at around 300 objects on the screen. i suppose maybe it's because that he calls prepareToDraw (GLKBaseEffect) every time it renders?
anyways, i'm just wondering what's the best way to do it. (should i just diss GLKit? how am i supposed to use it? i would love to see a good example or tutorial)
i know the iphone can do better, so i'm probably doing something really wrong.

btw-
the game i'm trying to make is a scrolling game, and i tried to put 4 background "sprites" that each one scrolls at a different speed and the frame rate got insanely SLOW. how can i do that???

and one last thing- is it possible that my iphone runs my game with better performance than the simulator on my MBP?
Quote this message in a reply
(Sep 29, 2012 01:32 PM)InvisibleMoustache Wrote:  is it possible that my iphone runs my game with better performance than the simulator on my MBP?

Yes; and the inverse is also possible.

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Luminary
Generally, anything relying on the CPU will be faster on the simulator, and anything relying on the GPU will be faster on the device.

For a 2D game you should be attempting to get down to ~3 calls to glDrawElements per frame. Use a sprite atlas and build your vertex arrays manually each frame.