Please help me get started.

Apprentice
Hello everyone my name is makinggames.
I have programmed WIN32 applications for some time and I have an extensive knowledge in C++. I started programming applications and games for the Macintosh using GLUT and OpenGL a couple of days ago and now I decided that I would like a new challenge so I thought about making Apps for the iPhone SmileSmile.

I would like to know some newbie things about iPhone/iPod Touch development such as:

-What language(s) I could use to program for it.
-Which programming language(s) you use.
-What programming language(s) is commonly used.
-What programming language(s) is the easiest to learn.
-The benefits of the programming language(s) you use.
-Where i could go to get started.
-A good book about it that should buy.
-And any other helpful information you can throw in.

Please excuse my questions if they seem mildly/extremely stupid, but i'm new at programming for the iPhone so please forgive me if I have just wasted your time.

P.S Also please excuse my bad grammar, i'm from brazil and English is my second language Rasp.

Thank you in advance, makinggames.
Quote this message in a reply
-What language(s) I could use to program for it.
Obj-C
-Which programming language(s) you use.
Obj-C
-What programming language(s) is commonly used.
Obj-C
-What programming language(s) is the easiest to learn.
Obj-C is your only real choice, while you can write in C you cant interact with the device much.
-The benefits of the programming language(s) you use.
Obj-C is the language that the APIs are written to.
-Where i could go to get started.
developer.apple.com is a great resource, as well as the built in documentation in Xcode
-A good book about it that should buy.
My recommendation is -
http://www.amazon.com/Cocoa-Programming-...523&sr=8-1
-And any other helpful information you can throw in.
The iPhone is very similar to programming on the Mac so take what you have learned there and apply it to the iPhone.