iPhone 3GS

Moderator
Posts: 385
Joined: 2002.08
Post: #1
Just picked one up today. Went 45 minutes after my local AT&T store opened, just out of curiosity. Expected a line of 100, only had a line of about 10 who didn't preorder, me included. I got there at 7:45, by 8:25 I had the exact iPhone 3GS I wanted, activated and working. Came back, restored and synced up, and I am ready to go.

The speed is a lot faster than the first generation iPhone. I never had the 3G model. In general, I am very impressed. My own app launches faster, Twitteriffic launches a lot faster, and the 3GS is even lighter than the first gen iPhone.

For anybody still using first gen iPhone, this upgrade is a no brainer. Video quality is quite nice for a cell phone, too!

Anyone else get one?

KB Productions, Car Care for iPhone/iPod Touch
@karlbecker_com
All too often, art is simply the loss of practicality.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 613
Joined: 2004.09
Post: #2
Make sure you are careful with watchDog and test on your old and new device. Processor speed increases are a double edge sword when it comes to development.

I havent gotten mine yet im heading down later tonight when things quiet down.

Kyle Richter
DragonForged.com
Twitter: @kylerichter
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 1,560
Joined: 2003.10
Post: #3
Mine arrived today. It's awesome! Everything feels so much faster! VoiceOver seems to work nicely, though I only played with it for a little bit. Compass map orienting is fantastic. Oleophobic screen really works. Really cool.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 450
Joined: 2003.08
Post: #4
I'm upgrading from a first gen as well, quite awesome. So fast!!
Alex
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 509
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #5
I'm very impressed, everything feels much snappier and the video is great! The only problem is now I need an iPod Touch with 2.2 to test my apps on, at least they should be cheaper by now
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2005.04
Post: #6
It literally is twice as fast as the previous devices. My games struggle to get 30fps on 1st gen iPod touch and iPhone 2G. I get silky-smooth never-drop-below-60fps on the 3GS. Even if you're not a developer, the extra speed alone is worth the upgrade.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 335
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #7
Has anyone gone the PAYG upgrade route for a 1st gen iPhone yet? (buying a PAYG 3GS and swapping the sims so your original contract sim is in the 3GS and the original iPhone becomes a PAYG).

I'm on O2 and my contract is nicely past its end date, but I'd rather just get the PAYG so I can ditch the contract whenever I want (rather than upgrading and being tied for another 18 months), just in case O2 lose the deal or come out with a super cheap contract later on. I need to keep my 1st gen iPhone running for dev purposes of course.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 450
Joined: 2003.08
Post: #8
My only problem had been with activation, had to call AT&T twice for almost an hour and a half until I got my phone activated (it had been 5 hours of waiting before that). Ah well, release date troubles, check Rasp.
Alex
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #9
Could I ask a favour of someone who has an iPhone 3G S? Could you check what string you get from this code?

Code:
[[UIDevice currentDevice] model]

It would be a massive help, thanks!
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: 2008.08
Post: #10
I should note that in the SDK3.0 the simulator is intel-only.
(For those ppc owners out there)
And my iPod Touch has been bricked by iTunes8.2, the mobile device support is buggy.
My dad has the same issue with his iPone3GS.
I wonder if any of you have seen this?
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #11
Oddity007 Wrote:I should note that in the SDK3.0 the simulator is intel-only.
(For those ppc owners out there)

The iPhone SDK has always been Intel only, hasn't it?
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 450
Joined: 2003.08
Post: #12
monteboyd Wrote:The iPhone SDK has always been Intel only, hasn't it?

I believe so as well.
Alex
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 1,560
Joined: 2003.10
Post: #13
monteboyd Wrote:Could I ask a favour of someone who has an iPhone 3G S? Could you check what string you get from this code?

Code:
[[UIDevice currentDevice] model]

It would be a massive help, thanks!

I get "iPhone", the same as with a 3G.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #14
Thanks for checking ThemsAllTook. I guess that's not a way to check what device a user is on then.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 509
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #15
monteboyd Wrote:Thanks for checking ThemsAllTook. I guess that's not a way to check what device a user is on then.

There has to be some way. Maybe check for the availability of one of the new OpenGL ES 2.0 features?
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply