Approach suggestions please?

Hi

I'm doing an MSc in Games Programming, and for my Dissertation ( from mid june to mid september) I have to do an iPhone game and get it published on the AppStore.

Now I've NEVER programmed on the Mac before, but for the last 3 years (Undergrad) I've got alot of experience with C++ / OpenGL (desktop version NOT ES) and C#

So my question is - because I have a very tight and fixed deadline, is it better to try and to the game in C++ / OpenGL and just write an Objective C wrapper to handle the touch / accel / etc... then pass messages to my own C++ that does the real work?

Or should I plunge right into Obj C?

I've bought the following books (but I'm TERRIBLE at trying to read them):

Beginning iPhone Development
iPhone developers cookbook
cocoa programming for mac os x
programming in objective c 2.0
core animation for mac os x and the iPhone

as well as a couple more on order from Amazon.

Please can anyone pass on their thoughts / suggestions and advice?

Thanks

Elphaba
Quote this message in a reply
Yes, just do a thin Objective-C++ wrapper for your C++ and OpenGL code. You will require very little access to UIKit, except for the basics, like you said, accelerometer, touch input, etc., but also including setting up your OpenGL view and maybe a little bit to get your working file directory set up. I wouldn't bother trying to learn much of any of the UIKit stuff or delving too deeply into Obj-C if you're on a deadline. Just copy and paste what little you'll need. Check out the oolong engine to get some ideas for using C++ with OpenGL on the iPhone.
Also, just as a note: iDG doesn't allow cross-posting amongst the sub forums here, so I had to delete your other thread (sorry). Generally, everyone will see what you're looking for if you just post it in one place.
Thank you so much for your advice.

It was kinda were I was leaning last night before I went to bed - and when I woke up and checked my email, you validated my feelings.