Newbie question: simple Sesame Street-like app

Nibbie
Dear friends
Greetings. I'm an old software developer (last time I wrote C++ code was in 2000) and have some newbie questions that I would like your thoughts on, please.

Before deep-diving into full-fledged games, I want to develop a really simple iPhone app that looks exactly like the Sesame Street iPhone app, to create a children's story for iPhone/iPad. It would have:

1> Simple "Flash-like" 2D cartoon characters on simple background (no 3D model, no effects)
2> Standard navigation buttons Next/Back/Index
3> Text captions
4> If not too difficult, a narrator voiceover
Essentially, a simple read-along story with pictures meant for iPhone/iPad.

My questions:
1> I plan on hiring an artist to do each frame of the illustration. Does it matter what tool he uses (Flash, 3DSmax, Illustrator, Sketchbook, Photoshop) to create these simple illustrations?
2> What should be the file format for the above illustrations? Should it be .obj, .psd, .png?
3> Would I need to write Objective-C code to tie the art assets to the navigation to build the app, or is it possible to create the app as a media file and just use the iPhone app as a container to play the media file?
4> If I need to write Obj-C code, which modules/classes/UIkit should I study further to build the code that would hook the artwork, captions and navigation controls together?
5> What do I need to do to add simple voiceover (narrative)?

Just looking for some guidance/pointers from you all, so I can build this simple app. I thank you in advance.

RB
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Hello!

1) Well the short answer is it doesn't matter what tool he uses, as long as you get an image of them in an image format.

2) If they're 2D I don't know why you'd use obj. Just use an image format. png and tiff work well.