New guy saying "hello", oh and some questions. :)

Apprentice
Hello everyone! Smile

I'm new to these forums and wanted to become active here as I'm a software engineer getting into iPhone/iPod/iPad development. I'm a windows programmer with experience in C++, C#, Visual Studio IDE and Direct3D. Making the big leap to a Mac, XCode IDE, OpenGL, Objective-C, etc. I imagine is gonna be rough road ahead of me lol.

So, I started this adventure after I got some awesome ideas for some games and wanted to try my hand on making them commercial, who knows how far it will go, but it should be a cool experience. I also am an artist (hobbyist) so I have that in my favour too, doing all aspects of this game myself, gulp!

I've been doing some research and have a few questions regarding a game I would like to make. My goal is to make a 2D game with the following properties, without giving too much away of course Rasp...

- Physics based, going to use an Open source C++ library if possible.
- 2-Dimensional.
- Needs collision detection.
- Not much GUI elements, mainly only main menus, very simple.
- Resolution independent (so it will work on iPad, iPod, iPhone)
- Universal binary.
- Raster graphics (art/textures). Not using vector graphics!
- Simple sprite animations required. Probably using a texture atlas (texture sheet) and index into this with UV coords to animate if I use OpenGL ES.
- More than a few objects on screen at once, maybe 50 or more, some animating or moving/rotating (physics).
- Sound, undecided at the moment.
- Networking, undecided at the moment, but probably Facebook, Twitter score posting.

So, I've done some searching and still haven't found or made up my mind about some aspects of the game...