Dynamically swapping between RAM and VRAM

So, I know absolutely nothing about memory management. I have avoided it since I learned what it was. But I've run across a problem: I need LOTS of images loaded simultaneously, more then can fit into 512 MB of VRAM. As such, I would like to have them loaded into both VRAM and RAM, but I'll need to move them around as required.

Having NO clue.... can I get some suggestions? I have limited experience with pointers and such...

Thanks,
~Shunter

When in doubt ... read the Read Me
10.5.6 | MacBook Pro 2.5x2 | 4 GB RAM | GeForce 8600M GT
Quote this message in a reply
I think the best way to handle that would be to build an asset library which always stores all of the loaded images in RAM. The asset manager can then create and delete OpenGL textures as required.
That does still leave the question of how the asset manger knows which textures can safely be deleted. I think that would depend on context, but I'd suggest either tracking usage and deleting the ones that haven't been used recently, or building a sort of retain/release system.
I'm afraid you may have to brush up on those pointers. What language are you wanting to work in? I use Objective-C for asset management stuff, because the retain/release system is already there, and the NSArray and NSDictionary classes are very useful.
Sage
VRAM is virtualized just like RAM. The system automatically pages on demand.
arekkusu Wrote:VRAM is virtualized just like RAM. The system automatically pages on demand.

Okay, that's a good start, but how about in BlitzMax, which is what I'm using? I was told there that I could only load as many images using the LoadImage() command as my VRAM could hold. To prove the point, I loaded until crash. Or is this a question better asked on their forums?

Thanks