Using an NSTimer to progressively draw a view

Nibbie
Hi,
I'm a newbie at Objective-C and iPhone development, but I'm working my way through the books and have some simple apps working well on the simulator.

I now am working on an app where I want to draw several dots on a view, at the rate of about one dot per second. drawRect starts an NSTimer, which every second calls a function that draws the next dot. The timer quits when all dots are drawn.

The problem is that I see nothing until the timer is inactivated, when all the dots appear at the same time.

If I use [self setNeedsDisplay] after each dot is drawn, then I never see more than one dot at a time. The display, apparently, is cleared with the drawing of each new dot.

If I use [self setNeedsDisplayInRect] after each dot is drawn, using the same Rect that I used to draw the dot, it's much better, but there are still some errors, as some dots get partially cleared as the new dots are drawn.

Is there a way to just see the new dots on the screen as they are drawn?
Sorry if this is a terribly naive question!

--Steve
Quote this message in a reply
One way to tackle this would be to use a variable which tracks the number of milliseconds which have passed since the first dot was drawn. Once a full second has passed then the second dot is drawn and the counter is reset and so on.

At the end of the drawRect method you can store the current time in milliseconds and then deduct that value from the time at the start of the drawRect method. The result or delta can then be added to your counter variable. Once you have hit one second you can set some kind of state variable which identifies which dot should be drawn and then start the process again.

Creating an NSTimer from within the drawRect method is going to get messy, so doing the timing yourself I think is a better option.