Could you please tell me which language to use...

Hi guys my name is filfil96 (for those of you that don't know me) i've been coding in c++ for 2-3 years now and i've begun in SDL.Grin

I wanted to start coding iPhone applications, but i have one little problem:
I don't know which language to useAnnoyed
A lot of people tell me to use Cocoa others tell me to use Objective-C, etc.

So basically:
1. What programming language do i use to make applications and games on the iPhone and iPod Touch?
2. What programming language do you recommend and why?
3. Where could i go to learn some basics about that programming language?
4. Which books do you recommend that teach that programming language?

Thank you very much in advance, filfil96

OMG! IT'S A SQUIRREL!!!
Quote this message in a reply
filfil96 Wrote:A lot of people tell me to use Cocoa others tell me to use Objective-C, etc.

Objective-C is a programming language. Cocoa is an Objective-C API used on Apple platforms.

You can find plenty about both on Apple's developer site.
Hmmm... i see, so let me see if i understand: First i learn Objective-C then i learn cocoa as it's APIHuh

Ok, oh and by the way, is there any good books on objective-C and Cocoa development or any good online tutorials that you could point me to?Wink

Thanks in advance, filfil96

OMG! IT'S A SQUIRREL!!!
Apprentice
filfil96 Wrote:Ok, oh and by the way, is there any good books on objective-C and Cocoa development or any good online tutorials that you could point me to?Wink
I came from a 10-year Windows C/C++ background and I found this book excellent for learning Objective-C;

Stephen G. Kochan
"Programming in Objective-C 2.0" (second edition)
ISBN 0-321-56615-7

Once you're comfortable with Objective-C, I'd move on to this one;
Aaron Hillegass
"Cocoa Programming for Mac OSX (second edition)
ISBN 0-321-21314-9

Hope that helps,
Lindsay