OpenGL Animated Sprite Question

Apprentice
Hello,

im relatively new to opengl in general and i wanted to ask what would be the best way to animate a sprite on the iphone.

Short description of my project:
2 big bg animated sprites (2 frames, same size 1024x512).
and aprox 6 animated sprites (50 frames, mostly each frame 128x128, but possiblity for dynamic sized frames).

Based on some tutorials i have the following options for animating the small sprites:

1. Display Lists with one big texture 1024x1024 (storage for aprox 100 frames)
I saw this only used in NeHe Tutorial for rendering text from textured font.
So would this be the right choice? [Edit: Forget it ;( OpenGL ES doesn't support Display Lists]

2. Same as 1 but no displaylist (changing textcoordinates)
Is it possible to select the frame in the texture or would the whole texture be resized?

3. One Texture with varying size for each frame.
Does this give me a negative performance impact?

Did I miss a possibility? Which possiblity would you recommend?

Thanks!
Quote this message in a reply
Yeah, you can do that.

Your texture coordinates are no different than selecting a subimage for display from a large image.

If possible use a single texture , biding textures during every frame can become expensive.
Apprentice
What exactly do you mean by saying binding texture in every frame can be expensive.

I only have max 10 animated sprites all of them different so i can't use the same texture multiple times. I guess thats what you meant (Maybe effective if you are cloning hundereds of same textured enemys?).

Anyway here is my Extension Code to the Texture2D class.
Code:
- (void) drawAtPoint:(CGPoint)point doInvert:(BOOL)invert ind:(int)ind cx:(int)cx
{
    GLfloat        coordinates[] = { ind*(_maxS/cx), _maxT,
        (ind+1)*(_maxS/cx), _maxT,
        ind*(_maxS/cx), 0,
        (ind+1)*(_maxS/cx), 0 };

GLfloat        width = ((GLfloat)_width * _maxS) / cx,
    height = (GLfloat)_height * _maxT;