xcode build problem

While working on my project in xcode, I normally have the build set on debug and I just hit build and go. I recently tried to open a release build outside of xcode and it did not work, I got a warning saying, "the app x has quit unexpectedly."

After some experimentation, I got the build to work but only after I eliminated 3 out of 4 routines I use at startup to load game data and textures. It might be worth noting that I use global arrays to store all game data and textures, so these routines read data from files using stdlib into the various global arrays.

The only thing I could guess is that my app does not have enough memory- I also can't seem to figure out a way to give my app more memory. Any thoughts?
Quote this message in a reply
I'm not an Xcode expert, but here are a couple of things you might try.

First, if you haven't already, try running the release version of the app from Xcode, and the debug version as a standalone. This will help in determining whether the problem is related to the build configuration, or to how (and from where) the application is run.

Also, make sure you're performing proper error checking in your asset loading routines. Make sure the assets are being loaded correctly, and if they're not, gather whatever information you can about the problem and output it somewhere (e.g. to a text file) before shutting down the application.

My uneducated guess is that this is a 'current working directory' problem, but I could be wrong about that. In any case, I recommend doing some more troubleshooting, and then posting back here with further details if the problem persists.
Thanks for your suggestions _jyk_. I went back into xcode tried what you suggested. It appears that I can run both the release and debug from inside of xcode, but neither outside of it.

All of my asset loading routines seem to be in order and working properly.