OpenGL transparency question?

Apprentice
I want an image to fade away on the screen. The game uses OpenGL. I've been looking around for some sort of transparency function but I can't seem to find it. Sad

Thanks! Smile
Quote this message in a reply
If you want the whole viewport to fade to black (or something) you can just draw a rectangle on top of it. Assuming that what you mean is a textured polygon in a part of a scene, you could use GL_MODULATE for glTexEnv and ramp the alpha value in your glColor.
Apprentice
backslash Wrote:If you want the whole viewport to fade to black (or something) you can just draw a rectangle on top of it. Assuming that what you mean is a textured polygon in a part of a scene, you could use GL_MODULATE for glTexEnv and ramp the alpha value in your glColor.

Thanks for the quick replay. Smile What I'm trying to do is the latter of the 2. Sorry I'm new to this OpenGL stuff, could you write an example in code?

Thank you! Grin
DoG
You're probably looking for "blending".
Apprentice
DoG Wrote:You're probably looking for "blending".

My game is just a simple 2d game. (if that helps) All I want is a small image to fade away on the screen.

Thanks!
Right, as DoG said, you need blending. glEnable(GL_BLEND). You can set your translucency different ways, but glColor4f(r, g, b, alpha) is probably what you'll start with -- "alpha" being your opacity/translucency, and r, g, and b all being 1.0f if you just want a straight fade. Then it also depends on your blend function, but that's another story we'll talk about once you get blending and glColor4f doing something, but not the way you want.
Apprentice