I'm sure it could be faster...

Hi all

I've been learning Obj-C and OpenGL for the last month or so. To get to grips with things I've been creating my own classes to handle rendering images (Texture2D for the initial texture loading), scaling, rotating, Sprite Sheets, Bitmap Fonts, Animation, Tilemap etc.

I've got all this stuff working ok but to me I just don't think it is as fast as it could be as I see things slow down when for instance the screen is full of tile map tiles but then is nice and smooth when there is maybe only half the screen filled. My background is Java and so I've tackled my game code using straight Obj-C with classes, class instances and methods etc.

I've been reading through the excellent info on this forum for a while and it would seem that using Obj-C for all this adds an overhead with the creation of objects and message despatch etc which is bad on the iPhone with limited resources. I want to make my game code as fast as possible, doesn't everyone Smile but I'm not sure from my current code where the best place to start is and where I should focus.

I've used info from the forums to try and optimize my gameloop and instruments is showing that most time is being spent in the game loop and render code, so things like should I draw all quads in one hit rather than separate as they are now etc, although I'm not sure how to tackle that etc.

I'd be happy to email my entire test project to someone if they would be willing to take a quick look and tell me where I should spend my next dev hours as I don't want to focus on an area, change it so using inline structs and functions only to find I get a 0.1% improvement Smile that would be a real bummer.

If anyone is up for checking out my project or just has advice it would all be very much appreciated. On the advice side, I don't have any C or C++ experience so I'm not sure if I move from classes etc how to structure my code and project structure so again, any advice for this noob would be great.