Font rendering problem

I'm embarrassed to post this question, but while I've worked around other's OpenGL code a lot, I'm a newbie to writing my own OpenGL code.

I'm trying to render a font to a texture. However, the rectangle is all black. I've tried absolutely everything I can think of and can't figure out what is assuredly a stupid error.

When I use OpenGL Profiler to pause the program, I can see that the texture exists in memory, looks correct and has the correct ID. In short, I don't think my problem is with rendering the text to the texture or binding the texture.

I've prepared a very small sample project illustrating the problem. The code is in GLView.m and there's a #define at the top of the file that allows you to toggle between a working image texture and the non-working font rendered to a texture.

If anyone would be willing to take a look, I'd be eternally grateful.

The code is at:
http://www.dogwatchsw.com/code/TextureTest.zip
Quote this message in a reply
Add:
Code:
[helv12Black setObject:[NSColor whiteColor] forKey:NSBackgroundColorAttributeName];

It's upside down, but I think you can figure it out from there. Wink

Also, you have a few other problems going on with your code. You need to pay attention to the warnings. In fact, I would suggest treating warnings as errors.
AnotherJake Wrote:Add:
Code:
[helv12Black setObject:[NSColor whiteColor] forKey:NSBackgroundColorAttributeName];

It's upside down, but I think you can figure it out from there. Wink

Also, you have a few other problems going on with your code. You need to pay attention to the warnings. In fact, I would suggest treating warnings as errors.

Jake,

Thanks....that got me on the right track. The texture was being drawn in black because GL_BEND hadn't been enabled.

As for the other problems - I'm aware - it's just test code and the problems don't affect the issue at hand.