Which computer do I need?

Hi guys. New user here.

I want to start developing apps/games for iPhone and I don't have a Mac computer so I need to buy one.

Since I have never used a Mac before, I need some help from you. What do I have to take into account? I'm looking for the cheapest yet suitable solution:

1. MacBook or iMac? I guess that's not important and will depend on what I like best. If that's the case, I'd go for a MacBook (probably the 2GHz/2GB/120GB one).
2. What specs? What's the minimum memory, CPU frequency, HD size, etc. do I need to run Xcode, iPhone simulator and all the needed tools?
3. Maybe I'm forgetting about other things I should have in mind, so feel free to give your opinion.

Thanks in advance!
Quote this message in a reply
Any new MacBook will work fine for iPhone development. Any new minimum spec machine will do.

I wouldn't recommend getting any memory upgrades from Apple though, since they (ridiculously) overcharge for RAM for some unknown reason. I don't know about their international sales but I ordered 4GB RAM from this place for like ninety bucks. You don't have to have a RAM upgrade though. 1 GB will work fine, albeit a little slow launching and switching apps from time to time.
They quietly bumped the low end MacBook to 2gb recently, so it's even more of a good deal.
Don't worry about specs for the iPhone Simulator, I use a G4 and it works fine with some modification to install.
But just make sure that you computer is an Intel, not a used G5 or G4.
Then think of what making games for iPhone may cause: full Cocoa Apps for Mac.
If it's games your making then get the high or mid level graphics card, or plan on it later.
White MacBook (new $999 one with nvidia graphics)+external monitor (20 or 24 inches, 24 recommended ) seems a great choice. Otherwise it will be painful to code on 13 inches.

As far as tech specs the base version will be more than enough.

You could save something with the mac mini but i dont think its worth it.