Direct screen surface access for iPhone

I've been reading Zdziarski's iPhone Open Application Development. The problem I'm having is that I'm not using the Open Source toolchain he was using. I'm having trouble getting the example on page 100 (Core Surface example) working, which draws random snow on the screen.

Has anyone done something like this using XCode and Apple's official stuff?

I'm an experienced game programmer and designer (PC, Amiga, Sega, Xbox, PSP, PS2, Gamecube, Palm OS), but new to iPhone and this board. If I've missed a duplicate question, I apologize.
Quote this message in a reply
If that's an unanswerable question, then what is the simplest solution for double buffering on the iPhone, assuming I'm cool with writing into the frame buffer?

Or, what's the simplest solution for display for a 2D game?
I don't know if there's a "simplest" solution. We've all pretty much settled on using OpenGL for everything.
There's no direct frame buffer access. If you rely on non approved SDKs, you'll hit snags like that and code you get working on it isn't guaranteed to work on future versions of the hardware or OS.

As AnotherJake said, OpenGL is the way to go. It's pretty simple for 2D games and creating a new OpenGL ES project on XCode will give you a very straightforward example of doing double buffered 2D.
Thanks guys. So even for 2D games, OpenGL ES is the way to go.

Good to know.
Nosredna Wrote:If that's an unanswerable question

Not sure if its unaswerable, or if nobody saw the original post.
I check the board many times a day and yesterdays post just showed up when you posted today.

Sorry I can't answer it, you are way more experienced than I am.

An answer may come in time.

[edit]...yeah two posts while I typed this...and AnotherJake answered nine minutes into the future...
igame3d,

I wasn't being impatient. It just occurred to me after I posted my message that maybe I was asking the wrong question.