Glow/bloom in OpenGL

Apprentice
I'm trying to figure out how to add a glow effect where certain areas of a model (individual polygons in my case). So far I think the general strategy is:
  1. Render the scene normally
  2. Render the regions I want to glow offscreen (to a frame buffer object?)
  3. Blur the image that has the glowing parts
  4. Render the image on top of the real scene (does that mean this image is a texture I drew to?)

Am I on the right track? Also note that I'm using shaders, though I'm fairly new at them.
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
That's pretty much the trick. What you'll want to do is render the parts you want to glow in white ( or whatever color ) over black into an FBO.

You can blur the FBO pretty easily using two 1D gaussian kernels -- once horizontally, and once vertically. That's pretty important if you want to keep performance acceptable.

Than you can use additive blending ( glBlendFunc( GL_ONE, GL_ONE ) ) to draw the FBO atop the scene.

I'm happy to share my GLSL gaussian blur code if you're interested.
Sage
Or, depending on your content, combine steps 1 and 2 by putting the glow factor into the destination alpha.
Apprentice
O.K.

Does this mean that I need three sets of shaders; one for drawing the scene, one for drawing the glowing parts to the FBO, and one for drawing the FBO contents on top of the scene?
Sage
You've got (at least) three state vectors.
Apprentice
Well, it doesn't help that I've never used frame buffer objects before. Nor have I used textures that much. Blush

To teach myself frame buffer objects I've been trying to render my scene to a texture then render a quad with that texture, but nothing shows up. This is how I'm trying to set things up, where the code is strewn about in an NSOpenGLView subclass:
Code:
GLuint fbo; // Frame buffer object
GLuint fboDepthbuffer; // Render buffer object

GLuint sceneTex; // Texture

// Set up the colour texture
glGenTextures(1, &sceneTex);