[iPhone/OpenGL-ES] Loading/Drawing Pictures & Main Loop, where is it?

Apprentice
Hello everyone!

After having done a lot of DirectX I'm finally done (once again) on windows for a week or so, so I wanted to spend this time wisely learning some iPhone related stuff.

I've had some free time in between projects to look through a lot of iPhone game/application sources and explanations. Now generally I'm not too good with documentations, I usually get distracted easily from one wall of text followed by another series of walls of texts while a basic example code or explanation would also do the job, but with less confusion (again, for some people, like myself.)

Sadly I used to have an old source code from Apple of a project called Crashlanding which had a few things covered of what I wanted to ask, but no matter as I can ask the great community on here instead. Smile

For one, how does drawing the textures work? I've seen how they get loaded (which also seemed a bit confusing, but I understood major part of the code,) but not how they were drawn.
I have a pretty long background in using SDL, so normally I'd say it could be easy enough to load a picture into a surface and draw it with SDL_BlitSurface(,,,);, but of course things aren't that easy on here..

Secondly..I've looked everywhere through the code and honestly I can't figure this out.. What is the main loop? You know, where we have the ingame logic, and can draw things on-screen, this has been bugging me for a while.

I've looked at the open source 2d engine called Cocos2d-iPhone, but I'd rather learn how to do these basic things as I can't have someone hold my hand and do it for me forever.
For every game I've made, I created a small built in wrapper that would store and draw images from a vector, same with audio and such. And I'd like to do the same for the iPhone instead of using an engine. (No offense to anyone, if it sounds like one somehow. Sneaky )