Basic Networking questions

I already have a game in the apps store and its doing moderatly welll, but Im wanting to add online multiplayer but I dont really know where to start as I've never done networking at all before. My questions are:

1) What sort of server will I need? I already have a linux virtual server running my websites, but Im not sure it has a C compiler, will I need to rent another one too? Are there any you can recommend?

2) Is there any libraries out there I can use to help me develop my networking code?

3) Are there any decent tutorials on how to start writing networking code on the iPhone?

4) What can I expect in regards to lag/ping times etc? As this is a fps space shooter game, it could probably do with fast responses.

Many thanks for any help you can give?
Quote this message in a reply
wonza Wrote:I've never done networking at all before. [...] As this is a fps space shooter game, it could probably do with fast responses.

Just to warn you, this is likely to be like learning to fly by jumping off a cliff.

The ubiquitous introduction to BSD socket programming: http://beej.us/guide/bgnet/output/html/s...bgnet.html

This thread has some useful real-time networking links: http://www.idevgames.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13402
Thanks for the links,

I did mean to say I'd never done networking in C before. Im still no expert though, but I have done it in Java, but at first glance, it looks alot prettier in Java Smile
wonza Wrote:I already have a game in the apps store and its doing moderatly welll, but Im wanting to add online multiplayer but I dont really know where to start as I've never done networking at all before. My questions are:

1) What sort of server will I need? I already have a linux virtual server running my websites, but Im not sure it has a C compiler, will I need to rent another one too? Are there any you can recommend?

2) Is there any libraries out there I can use to help me develop my networking code?