Cocos2d enemy classes

Nibbie
I'm new to Objective-C but have a decent level of experience with C. I stumbled across Cocos2d and am hoping to give it a try. The problem I'm having at the moment is creating a structure to handle enemies within my little test game.

I'd like to create a base enemy class and eventually use it as a parent for future enemy classes. The class would contain a pointer to a Cocos2d Sprite object as well as a few methods: death, update, etc.

The problem is, I'm not really sure how to go about it all! I've had a stab at laying the groundwork for the enemy class.

Enemy.h
Code:
#import <UIKit/UIKit.h>
#import "cocos2d.h"

@interface Enemy : NSObject {

Sprite *sprite;

}

@end

Enemy.m
Code:
#import "Enemy.h"

@implementation Enemy

- (id) init {

self = [super init];
    return self;

}

@end

I'm just not sure how to create an array of Enemy instances and iterate through them. I've had a stab here, but am told that sprite is declared protected.

Code:
for( int i = 0; i < MAX_ENEMIES; i++ ) {
        Enemies[i] = NULL;
    }

Enemies[0] = [[Enemy alloc] init];
    Enemies[0]->sprite = [Sprite spriteWithFile: @"player.png"];

If someone could point me in the right direction, or provide some example code, I'd be very grateful. If I'm going in totally the wrong direction, please tell me! I imagine I'll be repeating whatever solution I arrive at for things like particles and other sets of data that needs period logic updates.
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Right; Because sprite is protected, you need Enemy to set the sprite reference. One possibility: have a setSprite: method in the enemy class, and/or add a sprite parameter to the init method and set the member variable sprite there.

Also, if you're not using garbage collection, make sure you're doing memory management correctly. (Your sprite is autoreleased in the last bit of code, but you will want Enemy to retain it.)
Nibbie