The Legend of Mazzeroth - legal or not?

Founder
Hi iDevGames!

I am a developer on a project called The Legend of Mazzeroth and we have signed up for uDevGames in hopes of being accepted to participate.

I had a couple questions I wanted to ask.

First, we had a previous code base that we released screenshots for. Since then we have ditched that code and have started fresh and have not released any screenshots except to other members of our team which was only 1 image showing the client can put a picture on the screen, no actual gameplay elements. Would that alone disqualify us?

Second, I think this is answered in the rules or FAQ but I wanted to make sure I understood. Our submission only has to be a playable demo atleast, correct?

Thanks for hosting such a great contest and we look forward to your approval!

Thanks!

-Trevor Allen
- The Legend of Mazzeroth

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
Quote this message in a reply
Trevor Allen Wrote:First, we had a previous code base that we released screenshots for. Since then we have ditched that code and have started fresh and have not released any screenshots except to other members of our team which was only 1 image showing the client can put a picture on the screen, no actual gameplay elements. Would that alone disqualify us?

This seems fine. It sounds like the new code is essentially an entirely new project, so it doesn't sound like the previous iteration should disqualify the new one.

Trevor Allen Wrote:Second, I think this is answered in the rules or FAQ but I wanted to make sure I understood. Our submission only has to be a playable demo atleast, correct?

Although we encourage full games rather than demos, I think we've had demos entered in the past, and plenty of games that only had enough "final" content to be considered a demo by the end of the contest. So, though there's some chance you'll get lower scores for it when voting time comes, I don't think this is explicitly disallowed.