iPhone/Obj-C development complicated??

Nibbie
I've been using Java for ~5 years now (I am currently a third-year undergrad), and in the last year of school, my classes have introduced me to C and C++. I haven't had too hard of a time with those new concepts introduced in C, however I downloaded the iPhone SDK and I am completely overwhelmed. The syntax is confusing, there are both [sender method] type messages along with standard sender.method() functions... I went through quite a bit of Apple's documentation before I had a meltdown.
Now, did I give up too early? How am I supposed to grasp all of this new information, especially when Apple's documentation seems extremely hard to follow..
Quote this message in a reply
Objective-C is odd at first, but if you're experienced in Java, it shouldn't be hard to grasp at all. Still, I'd say the way to go would definitely be getting a copy of Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X, by Aaron Hillegass. Arguably the best introductory Cocoa/Objective-C book out there, and definitely one of the most popular. Plus, if I recall correctly, there are a few places in the book where Hillegass actually says things like, "In Java, you're used to doing it like this, but in Objective-C, this is how we do it."

I may not be an iPhone developer myself, but from what I understand, Cocoa/OS X development and iPhone development overlap quite a bit, so I'd say you'd be better off learning Cocoa in general before moving onto the iPhone.

For other suggestions, see this thread. And I'm sure there are many other threads like that -- search the forums a bit if you want more suggestions.

Since when was "Fred" a placeholder variable?
You probably learned java a little bit at a time. Your first projects were pretty small, probably 10 lines or less all in your main method. It sucks going back to it, but I think that's what you have to do when you are learning a new language. Don't worry, it does go a lot quicker, but you still have to start at the beginning.