OpenGL render loop - NSTimer vs rendering thread

smallstepforman Wrote:I'm actually quite annoyed with Objective-C memory management. Bjarne's language is just much more thoughtful than Brad's language.

You should study up more on Obj-C memory management. Wink
Nibbie
AnotherJake Wrote:You should study up more on Obj-C memory management. Wink

I've been a long-term C++ programmer, and have been programming Objective-C for the past year or so. I've come into contact with many memory management schemes over the years... let's just say that manual reference counting is very error prone.

With well-defined ownership documentation, the blame for releasing/retaining in the wrong place falls squarely on the shoulders of the programmer. Unfortunately,

a) most APIs I've seen so far do not even begin to mention ownership, which is just very, very sad, and
b) when you have to retain/release manually, it's fairly easy to not pay attention and do something wrong.

No, autorelease isn't the solution to the problem. It helps reduce refcounting issues, but adds the unpredictability of garbage collection.

With smart pointers in C++ (see boost's here as an example, but you can easily roll your own), ownership is quite easily documented in the code (as opposed to comments), simply by your choice of smart pointer. At the same time, each object's lifetime becomes a lot more predictable than it is in Objective-C.

I've got to say, I can't help but reply that many Objective-C people probably don't really understand the value of RAII in combination with stack objects, the basis for any smart pointer implementation.

http://sigpipe.macromates.com/2008/09/19...c-storage/ is the result of a quick google, you might find it useful. It's not exactly about memory management, but about RAII in C++ and Objective-C++.
unwesen Wrote:No, autorelease isn't the solution to the problem. It helps reduce refcounting issues, but adds the unpredictability of garbage collection.