Dice Rolling Metalanguage

Apprentice
Hi all,

I been trying to figure out a good project to be do, since i am a beginner. I have decided to go with a tool that been screaming inside my head to be put on code for a while now.

It's a simple application that allows me to roll dice but is based on a "meta-language". the few notes i have on it are this:

Code:
roll 4d6, drop lowest, add up the result. r4d6d1S
roll 4d6, keep highest 3 dice, add up the result, add 4 to the result. r4d6k3S+4

roll 2d8, add up the result, add 4 to the result. r2d8S+4

roll 6d10, count success with target greater than or equal to 7. r6d10t6
roll 6d10, count success with target lower than 7. r6d10T7

Syntax:

Roll dice
rAdB, where A is the number of dice to roll, B is the number of sides per dice.
Returns a Dice Pool.

Keep
[k|K]N, N is the number of dice to keep, k means keep highest value, K means lowest value.
Returns a Dice Pool.

Drop
[d|D]N, N is the number of dice to drop, d means drop lowest value, D means drop highest value.
Returns a Dice Pool.

Sum
S, Adds up the dice values in the dice pool.
Returns an Integer.

Count Success
[t|T]N, N is the target number, t means count results greater than target, T means count results lower than target.
Returns an Integer.

Now my question is, what would be the best way to implement this parser in Obj-C/Cocoa?

i have a few ideas, like i should create a class that uses NSMutableArray, DicePool. this object could then have several methods attached to it. but i am not sure how to structure it.

Like for instance...

DicePool Rolls;

[Rolls roll:4 d:6] keep:3 lowest:yes] or something like that.

but what really gets me stumped is how to make a parser for the syntax.

Any help would be appreciated.
Quote this message in a reply
That looks like a really cool idea.

NSScanner is useful for parsing a string.

I'd be probably have each DicePool method parse its own syntax, so you'd have:

Code:
DicePool * rolls = [[DicePool alloc] init];