rotate around own axis

I definitely have to stop using Euler angles as ive spotted more problems; specifically with moving in the direction your pointing. Eg, if you rotate 180 around y and then rotate 180 around x, so essentially your pointing the same way you started; but it will mess up the move ability as it still acts as though you are facing the opposite direction.

On a side note, I think there is a typo in the Matrices tutorial:

struct Matrix {
float m[16];
}
typedef struct Matrix Matrix;

should be:
struct Matrix {
float m[16];
};
typedef struct Matrix Matrix;

it took me a while to spot it. Mainly cos Im still new to C Smile
Quote this message in a reply
Ooh, good catch. Thanks! Will fix...
ok, I think Ive got the rotation code figured out. Fairly simple when it came to it Smile
Im still maintaining my eular angles but here's what im doing:

quat = quaternion_from_euler(viewAngle.x/RAD_TO_DEG, viewAngle.y/RAD_TO_DEG, viewAngle.z/RAD_TO_DEG);

Quaternion_toAxisAngle(quat, &newV, &myangle);
Matrix matrix;
matrix = Quaternion_toMatrix(quat);
glMultMatrixf(matrix.m);

But like I said earlier, Im still having problems moving forward in the direction you are pointing. Im currently doing:

viewSpeed.x =cos((viewAngle.y+270)/RAD_TO_DEG);
viewSpeed.y =cos((viewAngle.x+90)/RAD_TO_DEG);
viewSpeed.z =((cos((viewAngle.y+180)/RAD_TO_DEG)/2) + (cos((viewAngle.x+90)/RAD_TO_DEG))/2);

viewPosition.x+=viewSpeed.x;
viewPosition.y+=viewSpeed.y;
viewPosition.z+=viewSpeed.z;

But, as i mentioned earlier this really messes up and rotating x around 180 and then y around 180, as it moves me further away instead of closer to. Is there a better a way of doing this?

Thanks again!
wonza Wrote:Im still maintaining my eular angles

But, as i mentioned earlier this really messes up and rotating x around 180 and then y around 180, as it moves me further away instead of closer to. Is there a better a way of doing this?