Depth Buffer Question

I'm sure this is a very simple question, but for some reason I've never encountered it before. What I want to do is draw a depth tested scene in the background (so to speak), and then I want to layer another depth tested scene on top of that (which I've never done before). [edit] You may be wondering why I would do this, so I should add that it's for a menu which uses 3D elements for the buttons and controls, which is displayed over the game. [/edit] At first, I thought I could just layer objects by setting their depth values so that the two scenes "appear" sorted correctly, but that didn't work out so well. Then I thought maybe I'd have to render one of the scenes to a separate buffer like a texture or something and then layer it on top, but that seems overkill.

Then I thought, well, what would happen if I simply cleared the depth buffer after I finished drawing the first scene and then drew the next scene? It worked! But... That wasn't what I expected. Is this right? Can I multi-pass the depth buffer and get expected results?

It seems to work perfectly, but I thought that depth testing happened late in the pipeline and all the results of the depth testing would be combined. I also assumed that if I cleared the depth buffer after drawing some depth tested objects, their depth component would be essentially discarded (because the depth values would be cleared) and they wouldn't render with depth testing, but right now they appear to be correctly depth tested even after the clear at mid-render between the two scenes. I'm asking because it seems that my mental model of how/when depth testing occurs was incorrect all this time.
Quote this message in a reply
What you described should work as you intended. As I understand, fragments are depth tested as soon as they're drawn, so clearing the depth buffer will have no effect on things you've already drawn; it simply discards accumulated depth buffer state for subsequent drawing.