game newb

drunknbass
Unregistered

hi, im kinda new to the game programming thinking.. i dont understand how to program logic for like puzzle games.. say stuff where you slide bricks around and have to match 3 in a row or whatever..

maybe there is something somewhere that summarizes this along with gravity so i can wrap my head around it and understand.. or maybe even cheap open source game t look at..
Quote this message in a reply
It will vary greatly depending on what you are doing. While there is no easy way to explain it once you get a pretty good hold on programming it starts to come together.

A game is not the first thing you are going to want to program if you have never coded anything before. Start with what is referred to as the "hello world" program. The biggest challenge is getting text to appear on the screen.

You are most likely going to want to learn C to start, there are some great web tutorials floating around but picking up a book at the local bookstore might do you well also. Once you understand Switch statements, if statements and loops you will see that logic is rather easy.
drunknbass
Unregistered

i have programmed before (c, obj-c, c++), but i program apps.. games seems like a whole new way of thinking.

im also getting into opengl but am not at the point id like to tackle a game yet.. i was thinking a puzzle type game done in cocoa and core animation.
Luminary
I don't see how games are any different from applications. Often more complex, perhaps, but fundamentally, you've got some data, some business logic that defines how it can be manipulated, and some UI for manipulating it.
drunknbass Wrote:i have programmed before (c, obj-c, c++), but i program apps.. games seems like a whole new way of thinking.

im also getting into opengl but am not at the point id like to tackle a game yet.. i was thinking a puzzle type game done in cocoa and core animation.