Audio implementation / format?

Nibbie
Hi, I'm a freelance composer working with several other producers and composers in creating a royalty-free music catalog specifically designed for iPhone games. However, while we have experience with other mobile formats, the iPhone platform is still very new to us.

What sort of audio implementation is standard for iPhone games? Is there a particular music or looping format - eg. 22khz/16bit WAV, MP3, AAC? As developers, what would your preferred audio delivery format be?

Thanks in advance!
Quote this message in a reply
Apprentice
Since the iPhone runs a trimmed down version of OS X, I would assume it can read most standard audio formats. Not totally sure about this. I guess the only ones who would know the answer to this question are the developers with the iPhone SDK.

As a developer, I'd like to have the highest quality (lossless) format you could deliver. This means usually an AIFF or WAV file with the highest bit rate and sample rate at which the audio was recorded. The developer can then convert this file to a lossy common/proprietary format for the actual game.
If you go to the iPhone developer page, and read the "iPhone OS Programming Guide", there is a section on Audio, and it describes the available APIs, and preferred formats for audio on the iPhone.
Sage
As a developer, I'd like to have the smallest possible footprint in memory and on disk, and have programmatic control over mixing (sequence order, track enable, tempo, panning, etc.) Sacrificing audio quality is an acceptable tradeoff.

Baked formats like AAC are terrible for this. Trackers are much better.
Aressera Wrote:As a developer, I'd like to have the highest quality (lossless) format you could deliver. This means usually an AIFF or WAV file with the highest bit rate and sample rate at which the audio was recorded. The developer can then convert this file to a lossy common/proprietary format for the actual game.