[iPhone Dev] 2D Games, OpenGL or Quartz?

Apprentice
Hello everyone!

At first, I'm truly sorry if this is the wrong area to ask this, I couldn't find anywhere else where to post it.

I have recently started building interest for the iPhone/iPod Touch development and have made a concept of a game which I want to work out.

My past experiences with programming is a bit of C and a lot of C++. And as for graphics libraries, I know SDL very well and very little bit of OpenGL usage, but not much in that area since it seemed way more work than SDL at that time. ;p

I've been a 2D programmer since the start, am not really interested in 3D for some reason.
Just to try it out I have looked at a downloadable source from Apple, a OpenGL using game called "CrashLanding", and that sort of made little sense. But so did SDL when I just started it so I really want to get into this area of development.

Now I know the iPhone gives two options for graphics (I'm gonna exclude CoreAnimation); Quartz and OpenGL ES.

So my question really is, what would be best to go with when developing 2D games for the iPhone/iPod Touch platform?

(Also as a side question, does anyone know any good tutorials to start with when going into iPhone/Touch development? I know the docs and sources are a very good place to start, but sometimes non-professionals have more useful comments and explanations. No offense to anyone though. Rasp )
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Quartz may be somewhat GPU powered, but it's almost certainly going to be CPU intensive compared to using OpenGL. A CPU intensive iPhone app means that you will drain the battery quickly, and probably not run smoothly as it's not a fast processor.

Considering that GL and Quartz have similar learning curves, you might as well just go with GL.

Scott Lembcke - Howling Moon Software
Author of Chipmunk Physics - A fast and simple rigid body physics library in C.
Apprentice
Thank you for the quick reply!