Beginner Carbon & OpenGL help

jo_shadow
Unregistered

I'm a complete beginner with most aspects of OpenGL programming, as well as having no experience to speak of with using either carbon or cocoa, having minor experience with C, and some with java and actionscript, having done more web oriented stuff than actual computer software, and being more of a graphic designer at heart than a programmer.

That being said, I just bought this book called OpenGL Proframming on Mac OS X, which seems to be the only recent book i've been able to find exclusively on the subject: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0321356527?tag=...F3A8N6X5H&

So far all I really want to do is create a window so I can start getting aquainted with how OpenGL works. I do have a friend who has alot of experience with OpenGL, but he is a windows enthusiast so until I can actually get stuff to show up he won't be much help to me.

In short, there is a small bit of AGL OpenGL code in the book, page 92-93 if anyone has it, for creating a full screen AGL OpenGL application, and I tried copying that to the letter. However I get a whole bunch of errors which leads me to believe I'm missing something crucial that's not outlined in the text, probably because most people reading the text would know enough before-hand to know how to begin before plugging in their code.

Here's what I did:
1. Created a new carbon C++ application project in Xcode (leopard version)
2. Added the OpenGL and AGL frameworks (screenshot: http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/5453/picture1gg4.png )
3. deleted the code in main.c, and replaced it with the following code from the book:
Code:
#include <Carbon/Carbon.h>
#include <OpenGL/OpenGL.h>
#include <AGL/agl.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
    AGLPixelFormat pixelFormat;
    GLint attribs[] =
    {
        AGL_DUBBLEBUFFER,
        AGL_ACCELERATED,
        AGL_NO_RECOVERY,
        AGL_RGBA,
        AGL_NONE
    };
    pixelformat = aglChosePixelFormat( NULL, 0, attribs);