Beginner - Objective-C/C++/Engines question

LeChuck
Unregistered

Hello,

I have decided to look into game programming on the Mac. I do not have any C related language experience. I am a web developer and I am experienced with PHP, Javascript etc...including proprietary language, and familiar with development. I setup XCode and started looking into Objective-C and it seems that learning the language itself should be a no-brainer, the biggest trouble being of course learning how to build a game.

Anyway...I also looked into game engines, for example PTK, and this is when the confusion part comes in, a little.

If I go the Objective-C route, will that be exclusively to build Cocoa applications or will I also be able to use libraries from game engines should I need to do that? Should I go the C++ route instead? What is it that either of those paths would *not* allow me to do?

What of games that have no "system" interface (sorry about the newbyness)? I am not looking at card games but things a bit more ambitious sh as platformers, 2D arcade, eventually a bit of 3D etc...

Thanks for any pointers and please let me know if this wasn't very clear!
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
C, ObjC and C++ can be intermixed more or less freely.

Whatever language you choose for the bulk of your game, you'll have a bit of Cocoa code at the top to make a window, gather events, and a few other OS-level things.
Since you mentioned you have experience with Javascript you could look into Unity, which is a nice commercial game engine. I haven't kept up with it but last I saw you could use Javascript or C# for scripting it.

Starting from scratch is real tough, but definitely doable if you have the tenacity and/or talent to do so. You'll have to learn C and Objective-C for all practical intents and purposes, which is not a walk in the park but not impossible. (well, you don't *have* to learn Objective-C, but like OSC mentioned, that's what most of us use for windowing nowadays)