How does opengl do it?

How does opengl blit directly to the screen/view?
Quote this message in a reply
Hardware, framebuffer, driver, window manager, textures, commands... what exactly are you asking and why does it matter?

If you want to know how to use opengl to blit then maybe we can begin a discussion on using FBOs, textures, etc...
The simple answer is: OpenGL doesn't blit directly to the screen. OpenGL is an API which acts as an abstraction layer between you, the programmer, and the graphics hardware (e.g. the GPU and VRAM). How that hardware actually "blits to screen" at the end of the graphics processing pipeline, in hardware, is implementation independent, that is, the actual nuts and bolts of it is different from graphics hardware package to graphics hardware package -- or at least that's how the theory goes (I'm not an engineer so I don't have specific knowledge of the details).

Why exactly we aren't generally offered the ability to blit our own pixels directly to the VRAM of a particular set of hardware anymore like the old days I don't know. There may be many technical details making that hard to do, like maybe that would interfere with virtualization and make it not worth implementing? I guess it's pretty easy to argue that doing so would be pointless in an environment where you can easily use high-efficiency graphics hardware to do the rasterization for you.