Using Cocoa/objective-c in C++

nightition
Unregistered

Hello,

although an experienced programmer, I'm completely new to the Mac world, so please bear with me Smile

We're currently developing an engine and a game, which we'd like to run on most modern platforms.

As a beginner, I thought Carbon would be my most natural choice, since I can call it from C++. However, since Apple discontinued future Carbon support, it seems pointless to start learning an already dead technology.

What I am wondering is how Cocoa with Objective-C would fit into this whole story? In other words, is it possible to have an otherwise C++ application, but with just small parts using Cocoa for window initialization/message processing, etc.? I've seen examples where objc code calls c++ code, but I don't find it convenient since it doesn't fit with the code on other platforms - I would need to 'wrap' the whole objective-c part around some c++ code in order to make the whole thing portable.

Is it realistic to expect to achieve something like this? What are other developers who need cross-platform compatibility doing? Is there a universal solution to all this?

*rant*
A few months ago, I got really excited about Macs, and really looked forward to switching to OS X... However, after finding out that Carbon is officially going out, and that practically the only way to program for OS X in the future will be Cocoa/objective-c, I'm getting more and more frustrated. Now I'm near the point to just dump the whole Mac thing and get back to Windows...
*end rant*

Ivan
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
ObjC and C++ play perfectly well together. Putting ObjC objects in C++ classes is slightly easier than putting C++ objects in ObjC classes. .mm files can include both ObjC and C++ code.

I don't understand the basis for the rant. Carbon was nasty, it's much better dead. In its place, you get a modern OO application framework in a nice OO language. What's the issue?
Sage