Yet another newbie

Apprentice
Firstly, sorry to push yet another newbie "I want to make a game thread" on you!

I am new to iPhone development, been reading books, online tutorials and watching training videos etc, and now quite confident I'm ready to create a game, albeit a very simple one Smile. I have never created a game before, so have been lurking here for a while, reading various threads and have got a good idea of what is required.

My problem is thinking of an idea, can anyone suggest any *simple* game ideas that teach a lot about different concepts i.e. collision detection, animation etc so when I'm done, I will have a good grasp of various concepts to move on to a more intermediate game.

I was thinking a 'breakout' type game, with the paddle at the bottom and you need to smash the bricks above, in my head this appears as a simple idea but I'm not so sure...

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Quote this message in a reply
Yes, breakout is a good place to start.
Apprentice
Thanks Jake - any other ideas on a similar level of difficulty?

I will maybe make 2 Grin
Once you've done breakout, a simple platformer might be a good thing to try (start with just running and jumping on square blocks). There are a lot of things you'll have to figure out for it that will get you on the right path.
Asteroids is about the same level of difficulty as breakout. A platformer is a great idea too.
Apprentice
Thanks everyone, can I post the game here for people to comment on or are there rules against that? I doubt I will put my first game on the app store!
Yes, most definitely you can post your game here if you would like! Smile The Work in Progress forum is probably the best place, but we're pretty flexible if you're new at it.
Apprentice
So would you guys reconmend I jump in and try using something like cocos2d right from the off, or learn without a framework first?