can't get SDL to compile in Xcode 1.5

Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 2007.08
Post: #1
Hi everyone. I have been visiting this forum for a while but as I am a complete novice at programming I haven't had anything worthwhile to post yet. Grin

I've decided to attempt to write a simple program using OpenGL and SDL however everytime I try to compile any SDL program, even the default that comes with the download, I get this error:

ld: Undefined symbols:
_HIPointConvert referenced from QuickTime expected to be defined in Carbon

I believe I'm installing the framework/templates correctly but considering I can't even get the default atlantis program to compile I have a feeling I missing something stupid. Can someone help?
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #2
have you included both quicktime and carbon in your project?

It's not magic, it's Ruby.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 2007.08
Post: #3
I added both and still got the same error. I don't understand why anything with Quicktime or Carbon is coming up, because at least with my custom program other than the SDLMain.h/m all I'm doing is creating an OpenGL graphics context with SDL and clearing the window to black.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #4
are any other error messages showing up? Sometimes therin lies the answer. Otherwise, recompile the sdl framework for yourself.

Are you on 10.3?

It's not magic, it's Ruby.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 2007.08
Post: #5
I get two warnings on top of that error:

ld: warning prebinding disabled because dependent library: @executable_path/../Frameworks/SDL.framework/Versions/A/SDL is not prebound

ld: warning suggest use of -bind_at_load, as lazy binding may result in errors or different symbols being used

and yes, i'm using 10.3.9. Thanks for your help btw Smile
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
Posts: 5,143
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #6
SDL is written in terms of Cocoa (and apparently, Carbon). That's why you need to include those frameworks.

Since adding the Carbon framework will fix the error you have, what's the new error that causes it to fail after that?
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #7
Terrydil Wrote:I added both and still got the same error.

Terrydil: You're out of luck; I googled the symbol and came up with this: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp.lib.sdl/34002. You might try an older revision of SDL, or grab a binary from an application that uses sdl and runs on your system.

It's not magic, it's Ruby.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 2007.08
Post: #8
aw, lame Sad Well I guess I'll find an older version that doesn't require 10.4 or just suck it up and work in carbon or cocoa.

thanks Nayr
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply