Inner types in Java: how to reduce verbosity?

I'm still learning Java, and one of the problems I've been coming across is that, without being able to use a typedef as in C, I frequently have to type out long fully qualified type names. For example:

Code:
package myPackage;

public class OuterClass {
  public enum InnerEnum {THIS, THAT};
}
Code:
// in some other class' methods
OuterClass.InnerEnum something = OuterClass.InnerEnum.THIS;

This is just a made up example, but in practice this is making my code incredibly verbose as I have to type "OuterClass.InnerEnum." every time I want to check or set the value of an inner enum (and far worse if I am attempting to use an inner type of a generic class). I could always just promote InnerEnum as an independent type in myPackage but that moves code farther away from where it is used most, and would require a lot of separate files for each of a class's "helper types". And, it doesn't work at all for generics. Not very good design.

Is there any alternative that can, at least locally in a method, make the code less verbose while still using inner enums and types? That is, WITHOUT the use of the empty subclass trick.

-JeroMiya
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
does a static import help?
Sage
It seems to me that verbosity is the Java way.

The real irritant to me is typing out complicated generic type parameters all the time. HashMap<Integer, List<Integer>> see if you aren't grumpy having to type that 10 times, nearly in a row.

I should poke Andy, he's a java guy. He probably has something constructive to say.

Scott Lembcke - Howling Moon Software
Author of Chipmunk Physics - A fast and simple rigid body physics library in C.
Here I am, as summoned!