Texture performance

Nibbie
Hello,

I am new to iPhone development. Currently, I am thinking about writing a game that is rather graphics heavy.

I have not yet signed up to the iPhone Developer Program, as I am not sure whether I will get a reasonable performance. I am, being a student, a bit short of money and it would be a kind of a waste if I enroll only to discover that my idea is, performance-wise, too ambitious. I have googled a lot on the subject, but I keep hearing different stories about the performance that would apply to my situation.

It would be great if you guys could shed some light on the subject. The situation is as follows: there are only few polygons and basically, the game consists of lots of 2D sprites in a 3D environment. I won't be using lighting, but I will make some heavy use of alpha blending. You could see the game as a 2D game with sprites, but with the difference that it will be 3D (with perspective).
I can stuff my sprites in a large texture map (maybe two, not sure yet), but still - how fast does OpenGL ES handle lots of textures with alpha blending?

I am very sorry if similar questions have been asked before.

Thanks a lot,
JPvdB
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
This may be the best answer you get without benchmarking:

http://www.anandtech.com/gadgets/showdoc...i=3579&p=3
Great article! I hadn't seen that yet.

@ JPvdB: Since you don't have a device to play them yourself, what I would suggest is looking at some of the games on the iTunes store which might do something like you're planning, and then going to their websites to look at videos of their gameplay.