Cocoa or Carbon?

Hello, I'm about two-thirds done with a 2d OpenGL isometric sprite/tiling engine. The engine is written completely in carbon c and I have very little experience programming in Cocoa/Objective-C.

I was looking for some thoughts on a number of things dealing with Cocoa/Objective-C:

-For a small scale straight forward project like mine, what benifits would using Cocoa/Objective-C have over C?

-How long would you guess (roughly)it would take me to pick up enough Cocoa/Objective-C (assuming I'm fairly experienced in C and have an average learning curve)so that I could one: become reasonably comfortable with it, and two: begin to take advantage of it's strengths over C(assuming there are any)?

-(This is very general, but)Once someone is comfortable with Objective-C/Cocoa, what advantages could it have over C/Carbon for projects such as mine?

-Thanks.
Quote this message in a reply
Quote:-How long would you guess (roughly)it would take me to pick up enough Cocoa/Objective-C (assuming I'm fairly experienced in C and have an average learning curve)so that I could one: become reasonably comfortable with it, and two: begin to take advantage of it's strengths over C(assuming there are any)?
I picked it up in a weekend, and learned enough to do some more serious damage within two weeks. YMMV

Quote:-(This is very general, but)Once someone is comfortable with Objective-C/Cocoa, what advantages could it have over C/Carbon for projects such as mine?
I hate to sound vague, but there are countless advantages to using Cocoa over Carbon, including writing much less code for system level stuff. If you search the forums you will find lots and lots of discussions about it.
Luminary
Cocoa is a more uniform API, meaning it's easier to intuit.

It's better documented, meaning it's easier to find out how to use it.

It's better known, meaning it's easier to find people to help with problems.